Eureka, I’ve found it!!!

This week in science we learned how to find the volume of an object with water. This method was developed by Archimedes in Ancient Greece. It is used irregular shaped objects. First there is a container, containing a measured amount of water. Then the object is dropped in to the water. Then the water level once the object needs to be found. Subtract the original amount from the new amount, the answer is the volume of the object. When Archimedes found this technique he ran though the streets yelling ‘Eureka! Eureka!’ (I have found it! I have found it!).

In science we did a lab where we found the volume of objects. First we watched a video on Archimedes. It was stop motion animated using legos. During the lab I was partners with Avery. We split this sheet up. I did one side she did the other. This was a fun lab, and I learned from it.

Can you do this with floaty objects?

Can you do this with hollow objects?

Was the story true?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *